Spray Paint

Standard

At heart, it seems like an ingenious idea: mix paint and texture in a can. The effects are awesome and it seems oh so convenient. Press and spray. Viola! I was so excited this morning as I purchased the 2 cans of paint that the guy at Home Depot recommended. The excitement, however, didn’t last long.

After 20 minutes of spraying, I discovered a few things about spray paint…

  • It is an expensive goopy mess. If it isn’t sprayed just right, with just a thin enough coat, then unsightly drips fall down your project.
  • Sensitive to funky smells? Spray paint is the stinkiest paint I have EVER used. I mean knock-you-out smelly. So much so that even though a paint mask I was feeling dizzy as I added texture and color to the chairs.
  • This stuff is wasteful! So much paint is lost to the drop cloth- a problem that I have never had with a paint brush. I think there were times where my toes had more brown on them than the chair legs.
  • My finger got a cramp.
  • Two cans was not enough paint. I had to go out and buy 4 more just to get the chairs mostly covered.

Six cans of paint and a headache later, the chair metal is almost all a rusty brown color. The effect is actually really cool. While I will probably never use the stuff again, I am quite pleased with how are turning out so far…even if it is winding up to be more expensive than I had originally planned. I have a feeling we will be keeping these things around for quite some time.

Next step: Twisting twine along the stabilizing bars. Stay tuned.

Got something to say?